QIF 2021 India

2021 India Program Details

Qualcomm Technologies, Inc. proudly announces the launch of Qualcomm Innovation Fellowship 2021-2022 program for selected Indian universities. Each winning team (up to 2 students and 2 faculty members) will receive a financial award for the academic year 2021-22, plus assignment of a Qualcomm researcher(s) as a mentor to facilitate close interaction with Qualcomm.

The Program is sponsored by Qualcomm Technologies, Inc. and Qualcomm Technology Licensing headquartered at 5775 Morehouse Drive, San Diego, CA 92121 (“Sponsor”).

Qualcomm Research is a division of Qualcomm Technologies, Inc.
Application Process
Participating Universities
Areas of Interest

Submissions will be open from Feb 15, 2021. Template is provided on this website for proposal submission by the teams.

The team can be comprised of up to 2 students, wherein at least one student member of the team has to be enrolled as a Masters (M.S. / M.Tech.), Dual degree (B.Tech. + M.Tech/M.S.) or Ph.D. student in the Electrical Engineering or Computer Science department (or related department) for the entire 2021-22 academic year. In case of dual degree, the student should have completed his/her bachelor’s degree requirements by the end of 2020-2021 academic year. A second student team member is optional and may even be a final year under-graduate, i.e., enrolled in the final year of the under-graduate program in 2021-2022. Each student on a team is an “Entrant” and needs to be enrolled as a full- time student in one of the participating institutes. Also, each team must have one or more faculty advisors supporting the proposal and all the team members, and the faculty advisor(s) should be from the same institute. The Masters or PhD entrants from each team may elect to choose ideas from their on-going or planned research and/or thesis projects in accordance with their university policies.

Each team shall submit an innovation proposal (download the template) that must include the following:

  • Three page innovation proposal (plus optional page for bibliography/references)
    • Introduction and problem definition
    • Innovation proposal and relation to the state of the art
    • The one-year horizon of the project, even if the proposal is a multi-year project
  • Letter from one or more faculty members recommending the innovation including:
    • Why the proposal is innovative
    • Why the proposal is important
    • Why the current team is likely to succeed in their proposal
  • Each student's Curriculum Vitae
  • Signed agreement form by the team members (acknowledging the official rules of Qualcomm Innovation Fellowship program in India). Download the official rules, and sign at the marked location in the rules document thus agreeing to the competition rules.


See FAQs for more details.


Winners will be selected through a multi-phase process:

  1. Idea selection for presentation: Applications must be submitted online by the specified deadline (see Timeline tab). All proposals will be reviewed internally by a team of Qualcomm researchers. A subset of teams will be selected as Program Finalists and notified according to the timelines mentioned in the Timelines tab of this website. Selected (“finalist”) teams will be invited to make a virtual presentation of the research proposal described in their Application to a judging panel.
  2. Final proposals selection: Each selected (“finalist”) team must prepare a presentation for the judges. The format of the presentation will be provided at a later date. The presentation generally includes:
  • The proposal idea
  • The differentiating factors from state of the art
  • The execution plan / strength of the team

At least nine winning teams will be chosen from this pool of selected teams after they present to the judging panel.

The winning teams will be invited by the Sponsor to a virtual event for presenting the proposal details.

All QIF-related information will be announced on this webpage. Please check back regularly for updates.


Faculty & Mentor

In addition to the faculty advisor(s) guiding the fellowship research, Qualcomm Technologies, Inc. will help with assigning mentor(s) to facilitate periodic interaction opportunities with Qualcomm.


Funding Renewal Opportunity

The QIF India 2021 winning proposals will be re-evaluated in Apr/May 2022 in the form of a project presentation, and up to one or more of the winning teams may be granted a funding renewal from Qualcomm Technologies Inc.


More Info?

Do you need further information? Please direct your questions to: innovation.fellowship.india@qualcomm.com

Fellowship Winners and Finalists

The Qualcomm Innovation Fellowship began in 2009, and has continued to grow with the addition of more universities, more candidates, and expansion to our research centers internationally. Take a look at a list of all our fellowship winners and finalists from years past:

©2021 Qualcomm Technologies, Inc. and/or its affiliated companies.

References to "Qualcomm" may mean Qualcomm Incorporated, or subsidiaries or business units within the Qualcomm corporate structure, as applicable.

Qualcomm Incorporated includes Qualcomm's licensing business, QTL, and the vast majority of its patent portfolio. Qualcomm Technologies, Inc., a wholly-owned subsidiary of Qualcomm Incorporated, operates, along with its subsidiaries, substantially all of Qualcomm's engineering, research and development functions, and substantially all of its products and services businesses. Qualcomm products referenced on this page are products of Qualcomm Technologies, Inc. and/or its subsidiaries.

Materials that are as of a specific date, including but not limited to press releases, presentations, blog posts and webcasts, may have been superseded by subsequent events or disclosures.

Nothing in these materials is an offer to sell any of the components or devices referenced herein.