Effective October 1, 2012, QUALCOMM Incorporated completed a corporate reorganization in which the assets of certain of its businesses and groups, as well as the stock of certain of its direct and indirect subsidiaries, were contributed to Qualcomm Technologies, Inc. (QTI), a wholly-owned subsidiary of QUALCOMM Incorporated. Learn more about these changes

You are here

QInF 2012

We believe that research and development is the key to harnessing the power of imagination and to discovering new possibilities. We are excited to announce a new kind of fellowship that promotes Qualcomm’s core values of innovation, execution and teamwork. Our goal is to enable students to pursue their futuristic innovative ideas.

Qualcomm invited applications for the Qualcomm Innovation Fellowship from outstanding graduate (MS/PhD) students in the Electrical Engineering and Computer Science departments at UC Berkeley and Stanford University. Fellowship applications included an innovation proposal by a team of two students and at least one faculty advisor recommending the idea. We received total of 46 (23 from UC Berkeley and 23 from Stanford University) very interesting applications from which eight teams were initially selected as finalists and then two teams were awarded fellowships for the 2010 calendar year for their innovation proposal.

On November 18th, Qualcomm held an award ceremony in its Santa Clara campus where the finalists presented their proposals to their peers and the Qualcomm researchers and engineers. All sixteen students of the eight finalist teams received a Kindle for their hard work and excellent proposals. After the dinner, the winners of QInF 2009 were announced.

Each of the two winning teams received a $100,000 fellowship award for submitting the most innovative ideas. The respective academic departments at UC Berkeley and Stanford University will administer funds to the winning students for their fellowship work and research expenses for the calendar year of 2010. Total funding for two teams x two students x $50,000 each = $200,000. Additionally, Qualcomm has assigned a research mentor to each team to help bring their proposal to reality. Qualcomm has also made available offices and labs at Qualcomm Research Silicon Valley to facilitate closer interaction and collaborations with the teams.

2012 Winners: United States

School Student(s) Recommender(s) Innovation Title
UCB Asif Khan
Chun Yeung
Sayeef Salahuddin
Chenming Hu
Negative Capacitance FET with sub 60 mV/dec swing and high Ion for Ultra-low Power High Performance Mobile Computing
CMU Chris Harrison

Robert Xiao
Scott E Hudson Synthetic Sensors and Interfaces
Columbia Michael Lekas

Sunwoo Lee
James Hone

Ken Shepard
CMOS Compatible Graphene Nanoelectromechanical Systems for Next
Generation RF Design
UCB Sameer Agarwal

Aurojit Panda
Ion Stoica

Sam Madden
QuickSilverDB: Interactive Queries on Unbounded Data With Bounded
UCLA James Xu

Yan Wang
Greg Pottie

Bruce Dobkin
Multi-Context Driven Activity Classification through Three-dimensional
Body Motion via Wearable Sensors
UIUC Rakesh Komuravelli

Matthew Sinclair
Sarita Adve

Vikram Adve
Addressing the Hardware Challenges of Tightly Coupled Heterogeneous Architectures
Stanford Alexander Neckar

Sam Fok
Kwabena Boahen Neuromorphics: Programmable Analog Computation Through Reconfiigurable
Digital Communication
UCLA Xufeng Kou

Murong Lang
Kang L. Wang Topological Insulators Based Spin-Polarized FET

2012 Winners: International

Student(s) Innovation Title
Narseo Vallina-Rodriguez Towards opportunistic social computing
Ali Mustafa Zaidi Mitigating the effects of dark silicon
Tadas Baltrušaitis Facial expression and head pose tracker
Lorenz Meier Fast and Accurate Markerless Visual Inertial Motion Tracking and Localization
Matthias Dantone Augmented Faces
M. Zia Zeeshan Taking Augmented Reality to the Real World
Tobias Lutz A Constrained Coding Approach to Error-Free Half-Duplex Relay Networks
Andreas Gründinger Resource Management Optimization for Future Multi-Satellite Communication Systems

Fellowship Winners

2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009